March 30, 2010

a poem on Love

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:11 pm by randallbutisingh

LOVE.

Love bade me welcome; yet my soul drew back.

                               Guilty of dust and sin.

But quick-eyed Love, observing me grew slack

                               From my first entrance in,

Drew nearer to me sweetly questioning,

                               If  I lacked any thing.

“A Guest”, I answered, “worthy  to be here”,

                             Love said,” You shall be he,”
“I the unkind, ungrateful? I cannot look on thee.”

Love took my hand, and smiling did reply,

                             “Who made the eyes but I?”

“T ruth Lord, but I have marred them; let my shame

                              Go where it doth deserve.”

“And know you not,” says Love, “who bore the blame?”

                             My dear, then I will serve.”

“You must sit down”,  and taste my meat:”

                             So, I did sit and eat.

George Herbert (1593 1633]  English priest and poet.

2 Comments »

  1. Ntsikelelo Ngqaqu said,

    Beautiful!!!!!!


Leave a comment