December 1, 2009

MY BIRTHDAY MESSAGE – 2009

Posted in Messages, Years tagged , at 1:21 pm by randallbutisingh

MY BIRTHDAY MESSAGE – 2009

My dear Brothers and Sisters:

Today, December 1st 2009 is my birthday.   Over the last year I have completed my book:  “My Story” – Reminiscences during my life beginning 1914, and published it on this Weblog.   We also celebrated the second anniversary of the Weblog on October 21, 2009.  This Weblog has connected with old friends, former students and made me new friends as they discover its contents and communicate with me.  I truly look forward to your e-mails and kind words of encouragement, as they give me the energy and will power to carry on.

In August, I was also awarded the “Graypow Award” as the oldest blogger on the Internet and for “an outstanding website, which inspires everyone, and especially senior citizens, to be active and embrace continuous learning”.   In October, an award was presented by the Indian High Commissioner to me,  on behalf of the Guyana Hindi Prachar Sabha for my work in helping them in the propagation of Hindi in Guyana, for doing all the Hindi correspondences, and for editing  Gyanda, their monthly journal.

On this my birthday I must say: Providence has permitted me to remain on this beautiful planet Earth for ninety-seven years and has provided the means for my sustenance, has preserved me from many dangers, but most of all has afforded me good companions, friends and mentors who have helped to shape me into the being who I now am. It is unfortunate that it is only now I am able to see clearly how much each of these good people has contributed to whatever I have accomplished and what I have taken for granted.  I never thanked them the way I should.  It would have meant so much happiness to them.

During my lifetime, I have learnt that it is better to make friends than enemies; and though we may need an enemy to test our patience, our tolerance, our courage and forbearance, we must consider him a friend. Our tolerance and other virtues will eventually wear him down and make him a friend. I have also learnt that the negative emotions of anger, hatred, malice, greed and revenge come from the ego, from pride that does not want to see others better than ourselves.

I have been able to work on my anger and to succeed; I hate no one and I would like to see the world a better place where all men live like the brothers they really are and, instead of building weapons to kill and to maim one another, will instead, “beat their swords into ploughshares and their spears into pruning hooks

The world has enough, even in these conditions where the environment is diminishing to provide for the basic needs of everyone; but greed will not allow that.  Wealth that is not shared is wasted.  Baba says that if a manure heap is not scattered in the fields to fertilise it, it is of no use.

Finally I would say; cultivate Love, for Love will keep you from fear.  Unconditional Love makes everyone your friend and whatever the circumstances, you will be at Peace.

—  Randall Butisingh

22 Comments »

  1. Happy Birthday Randall 🙂

    Loves from İstanbul, TURKEY

    Nane Sekeri ( Peppermint )

    • randallbutisingh said,

      Thank you ilknur for your birthday greeting. I am thrilled to know that my weblog is being viewed in Turkey. I would like to hear a little more about yourself so that we can communicate some more. If you are Muslim, I say Salaam and Khuda hafiz.

    • randallbutisingh said,

      Thanks Ilknur, I was thrilled when I received your greeting from Turkey of all places. I will be happy if you will tell me some more about yourself and your country. Keep on visiting my Blog and let me know what you think of it.

  2. Miles Alex said,

    A Very Happy Birthday to you, sir!

    What a great day it must be for you, for it certainly is a happy one for me to continue to enjoy your well-written pieces this December 1, 2009.

    You’ve done a great job guiding us, your avid readers, with your incisive and thought-provoking words of wisdom. The lessons in life that you have learned and that you share with us serve as a guiding light in our own destinies and in making us better human beings.

    As someone struggling along life’s pathways in search of God’s purpose for mankind in this life and in the herafter, I truly appreciate your exhortations and teachings.

    May God continue to bless you with life and health…and please, sir, do keep the beautiful thoughts flowing our way!

    Happy Birhday again, Randall!

    • randallbutisingh said,

      Thanks Miles for your alway thoughtful and eloquent utterances. I can sense their sincerity and I bless you for them. Also your contributibutions to this weblog are always of a high standard.. Everything marks you as a man of dedication and commitment. You may have learned from me, But I have garnered a good deal from you. Your messages lighten me up. Thank you again and God bless you.

  3. Lyndon said,

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY AND BEST WISHES –

    GOOD HEALTH, HAPPINESS, AND SUCCESS IN YOUR ENDEAVORS..

    MAY GOD CONTINUE TO BLESS YOU ALWAYS

    LYNDON

    • randallbutisingh said,

      Thanks Lyndon, you are always a good support.

    • randallbutisingh said,

      Thanks Lyndon for your Birthday greeting and your Best Wishes. You have been a great friend
      and one I enjoy speaking with. All the Best.

  4. Pam Rowland said,

    Hello Teach,

    Your words of inspiration are so comforting today. Keep up the good work. I extend birthday greetings to you and pray that you will live to see many more.

    • randallbutisingh said,

      Thanks Pam for your kind sentiments.

    • randallbutisingh said,

      Thanks Pam for your Birthday greeting and your kind comment. It is always a pleasure to hear frrrrrom you.

  5. Cyril Bryan said,

    Hello Teacher Randall:

    Happy 97th Birthday Teacher Randall.
    I am most elated that you are well and that you are enjoying this milestone in your life.

    We have talked about how difficult it is sometimes to get the things you want done and how time is passing by so quickly.
    At least, this year, you completed the big project of the publication of your “Story”, so we all have a glimpse of your sorjourn through the years.

    You have also received two awards that showed thet you are appreciated for your intellent, insight and dedication to the things that are of interest to you.

    We all look forward to your words of wisdom in the coming years.

    Happy Birthday!

    Cyril Bryan

    • randallbutisingh said,

      Thanks Cy, without you I would not have reached where I am.

  6. patanjali ramlall said,

    Belated birthday greetings SIR,

    It is with great pride that we acknowledge you as an encyclopedia of 20th century: teacher, philosopher, and historian.
    It is not easy to name such a one as you anymore, who is still with us.

    Imagine being born in the year of the TITANIC. Living through WWI, the collapse of the Czarist dynasty, then the Stalinist and Leninist purges of Russia. Then the Indian freedom struggle, WWII, with the Japanese death marches in Asia, and the assassination of Mahatma Gandhi. Next, Mao Tse Tung’s long march in China and his subsequent purges; the Korean war, Vietnam conflict, upheavals in Iran, Philippines, Indonesia, the murder of Patrice Lumumba and all strifes in Africa, Pol Pot’s genocide, Rwanda, etc.

    You lived the cricketing feats of Donald Bradman, Len Hutton, Frank Worrell, Gary Sobers, Gavaskar, Brian Lara, and presently Ponting, Tendulkar, Dravid, Sehwag; now you are testimony to the invasion of Iraq and Afghanistan.

    It is highly improbable that someone else like you, and with your stature, skill, and teaching ability, who has lived through all of the above is still around to impart that kind of knowledge to the rest of the world the way you do, and how you saw it and how history unfolded.
    If possible, please re-live, as a witness, some of those historical moments and leave them to posterity.
    May you have good health and strength to keep up your good work for the future.

    See you in December, 2010.
    your pupil,

    Patanjali

    • Miles said,

      So well said, Patanjali!! And indeed how accurate you are in your commentary.

      I second your requests to our honorable teacher and share your best wishes for his continued good health!

    • randallbutisingh said,

      Pat, your knowledge of events in the past is amazing. It seems as if you had lived through those years and not I. I am proud of you, not only as a brilliant pupil, but also as a good friend to whom I owe a debt of gratitude. May you continue to enhance my Weblog with your very interesting and unique thought provoking, scholarly messages. You are a loss to Guyana as so many other efficient brains are. May God bless you in your endeavours and give you peace and serenity as you advance through the Autumn of your years.

      • patanjali ramlall said,

        SIR,
        Be it known that you have repaid that “debt of gratitude” by imparting your knowledge and wisdom to the world at large.
        I must admit that I omitted, for the sake of brevity the Great Depression, Dr. Martin Luther King’s Civil Rights STRUGGLES, the first integrated school in Little Rock, Arkansas, (1957,) Africa’s first independent nation – Ghana, (Gold Coast,) and the subsequent largest public jazz concert by the GREATEST, Louis S. Armstrong, for Ghana’s celebrations.

        You saw the decline, fragmentation, and fall of the British Empire, the *Profumo Scandal and subsequent resignation of Harold Mac Millan and the fall of his government. The destabilisation of the Jagan’s government in Guyana by outside forces including the American CIA ….. 1962 – 1964. The making of the four- minute track mile record by Roger Bannister, and the conquest of Mt. Everest by Sherpa Tensing and Edmond Hillary.

        ALL and more as a living witness in a single lifetime.

        Patanjali.

      • patanjali ramlall said,

        SIR,
        Be it known that you have repaid that “debt of gratitude” by imparting your knowledge and wisdom to the world at large.
        I must admit that I omitted, for the sake of brevity the Great Depression, Dr. Martin Luther King’s Civil Rights STRUGGLES, the first integrated school in Little Rock, Arkansas, (1957,) Africa’s first independent nation – Ghana, (Gold Coast,) and the subsequent largest public jazz concert by the GREATEST, Louis S. Armstrong, for Ghana’s celebrations.

        You saw the decline, fragmentation, and fall of the British Empire, the *Profumo Scandal and subsequent resignation of Harold Mac Millan and the fall of his government. The destabilisation of the Jagan’s government in Guyana by outside forces including the American CIA ….. 1962 – 1964. The making of the four- minute track mile record by Roger Bannister, and the conquest of Mt. Everest by Sherpa Tensing and Edmond Hillary.

        ALL and more as a living witness in a single lifetime.

        Patanjali.

        Sorry – * the “Profumo Scandal involved two beautiful ladies, Kristine Keeler and Mandies Rice Davies

      • randallbutisingh said,

        Pat, you are incredible, amazing! I recall those incidents now as you relate them. I however cannot recall that Louis Armstrong played at Ghana’s celebrations. Do you remember the year. I wrote an article on it for the media in Guyana; It may be in the blog but I cannot remember the year of her independence.

        I am glad that you think I have repaid you for your kindnesses, but the gesture of it all was magnanimous.

  7. patanjali ramlall said,

    Thanks Miles, you are a true student of history, one of a dying breed. Let’s keep it up with our off-springs.
    Patanjali

  8. patanjali ramlall said,

    Sir,
    Ghana got its independence on March 5, 1957. I recall Teacher Mercurius giving the pupils a full lesson on the event, and a little later in the same year, a lecture on the Little Rock, Arkansas historic event, even to the point that Pres. Ike had to send in National Guards to prevent any form of intimidation or violence against those poor but brave black students and their parents. Our Lusignan Anglican School was highly advanced and terrific under C.G.H. BRYAN, and Mercurius was also the Civics teacher.

    Next, although Louis Armstrong’s concert was in May, 1956, it was referred to, as part of the independence celebrations of Ghana,(then Gold Coast,) since the British government had already made plans for handing over the the first African colony to its rightful owners and was waiting for the results of the up-coming general elections which Kwame Nkrumah again won overwhelmingly.

    Louis Armstrong played for a multitude well exceeding 100,000 Ghanians and he was hailed in that country as a hero ever since. Chiefs and local Folks from all tribal regions and ethnic groups were represented at that two day celebrations.

    Armstrong’s middle name is Daniel, not the “S”. for Satchmo, as I had previously written. Satchmo was a “nickname”.

    An eyewitness told me that a concert held by Louis “Satchmo” at Queen’s College, Thomas Road, Georgetown, Guyana, in the late ’50’s was an extraordinary sellout. As Satchmo was playing on stage he saw countless numbers of his fans outside, who could not get in, for lack of space or money, and he was deeply concerned and was moved.

    At the conclusion of his stage show he asked a few members of his band to follow him out on Thomas Road to continue the show, in the open. Can you imagine what happened when he opened his first piece with ….. “When the saints go marching in?” It was said that people went wild …….. following after the man with the trumpet from Camp Street to Vlissengen Road, Georgetown, as he kept marching while playing. He later on stated that he could not walk away from his fans and other supporters who could not afford a ticket.

    This humble man who came from the poor and who played for royalty never forgot his roots in Loiusiana and was himself a “Prince” of music, and to the people. He acted with Grace Kelly, Frank Sinatra, Bing Crosby, etc., and was called America’s music Ambassador, the world over.
    He summed up his philosophy with his last song WHAT A WONDERFUL WORLD, some months before dying of a heart attack in 1971.
    Sadly enough Kwame N. became despotic and corrupted after some fifteen years in power and was overthrown in a bloodless coup in February 1966, backed of course by the CIA. It was claimed he had helped himself to more than $2bn and he was granted asylum by a good buddy, another African leader, Ahmed Sekou Toure in Guinea and never returned to Ghana.

    Your Chela
    Patanjali

    • randallbutisingh said,

      Pat, that was great information. You are indeed an encyclopoedia to which I can go to for information. You see I had written articles about Kwame, his rise to power and later the cause of his downfall, but I did not date them, so I was happy to get the dates. I cannot remember if I posted the articles on Kwame; if not, I may do so when I find them. Keep these information, print and file them. You have materials for a book or your own weblog. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

