October 8, 2008

LET ME BE A GIVER ….

Posted in Philosophy, Religion, Thoughts tagged , , , at 2:47 pm by randallbutisingh

THOUGHT FOR TODAY

LET ME BE A GIVER

God , let me be a giver and not one
Who only takes and takes unceasingly;
God, let me give, so that not just my own,
But others’ lives as well may richer be.

Let me give out whatever I may hold
Of what material things life may be heaping.
Let me give raiment, shelter, food, or gold,
If these are, through thy bounty, in my keeping.

But greater than such fleeting treasures, may
I give my faith and hope and cheerfulness,
Belief and dreams and joy and laughter gay
Some lonely soul to bless.

–MARY CAROLYN DAVIES.

Comment;
This little poem says it all. We are here, not for ourselves but to serve others. We are exhorted by our Lord to “love your neighbour as yourself.” He also said in Mark 10:43: Whoever wants to be great among you will be your servant; also in verse 45; For even the Son of Man did not come to be served but to serve. Those of us who have acquired much from His bounty, much is required to be given from us; not only the material things which will satisfy for a while, but we are also required to share those things which are not tangible but everlasting and will give comfort and hope.

Randall Butisingh

Leave a Reply

