July 19, 2008

EFFECTS OF CONTINUOUS LEARNING

Posted in Education, Messages, Philosophy, Poetry, Religion tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , at 3:51 am by randallbutisingh

Randall Butisingh – Newspaper Interview: Question 5 of 10.

EFFECTS OF CONTINUOUS LEARNING 

Randall Butisingh was recently asked a number of questions by a newspaper feature writer. This was the fifth of ten questions with the answer. We will feature these questions and answers in ten blog entries.

Question: What has this continuous learning done for you as a person?

Answer: In the year 1972, the same year of my retirement, I read the life story of Helen Keller, the blind and deaf humanitarian. I was so moved by her courage, her faith and her accomplishments, that I began writing poetry. Those poems were not my first; I had written several before, but I was so motivated and inspired by her life that the words kept flowing. My compassion was awakened; my love for nature enhanced. I became motivated to a lifelong and ever renewing quest for self-improvement and continuous learning. In my Blog introduction I said the following:

“Now in the evening of my years, my thirst for knowledge and service has not diminished. Among the areas of my interest are; Comparative Religion, Eastern Philosophy, the Computer, and teaching Hindi. In my late 70’s I learnt to read the Arabic script and am able to read from the Holy Quran. I can also recite a few of the Suras from memory. I can also read Urdu, a sister language of Hindi, written in the Persian script to a fair extent. At age 89, I began learning to play the Recorder and have acquired some degree of proficiency. I also practice on the keyboard. In this, my 96th year, I am studying Spanish, which helps me as I live in Florida, where Spanish is spoken extensively.

Currently, I am working on documenting ‘My Story’ which hopefully, will be of historic interest when completed, as it dates back to 1914, the beginning of World War I.”

Over the years I have read extensively in many areas and written many letters and articles on various subjects. Many of these documents are still relevant and are now in my blog. I learnt the computer and the Internet and  I can now correspond easily and faster by e-mail. I started my blog in October 2007 and now in July 2008 it has some 350 entries. It has been one of my greatest motivating experiences as I can now write even more and instantaneously publish my ideas – a continuous creative and learning experience.

Therefore, I continue to learn because it has helped me to understand many things. Learning has helped me to know that no matter how long I live, I will not be able to know a tiny fraction of what there is to be known. So it has helped to make me humble and to be able to listen to the opinion of others and to respect it, even though it differs from mine.

What I have acquired in learning and continue to acquire, I am able to share with my fellow men. Continuous learning has helped to keep my mind open to the acquisition and selection of the kind of knowledge that will help me see myself as a piece, like any other individual, whatever his talents, in the Mosaic which is indivisible humanity.

1 Comment »

  1. sourav894 said,

    These answers are interesting. It’s pleasing to know that there are thinkers in my country keeping the great culture alive. Even I’m a published Hindi poet. To catch a glimpse of my work, visit- http://souravroy.com/poems/

    Keep Walking…


Leave a Reply

