June 21, 2008

THE DAISY

Posted in Poetry, Thoughts tagged , , , , at 12:51 am by randallbutisingh

THE DAISY

You teach me humility, the cord on which all the virtues are strung.

That you may be trampled upon, but you will rise again victorious.

You teach me that the body is transitory; that outward beauty fades, but true beauty never fades, it remains in the wrinkled face; it survives death.

You teach me that however small I am, I can make a contribution. You can give shade to the ant.

You teach me that there is constant change in the world of things; that forms disappear and reappear in other forms.

That only that which was before the beginning of time is unchanging, is eternal.

That you too have a purpose.

Randall Butisingh

Haiku

(a Japanese form of Poetry)

The yellow daisies

Colour the earth’s green carpet

Restraining the feet.

Randall Butisingh

Small service is true service while it lasts;

Of humblest friends, bright creature, scorn not one;

The daisy, by the shadow that it casts,

Protects the lingering dewdrop from the sun.

William Wordsworth.

4 Comments »

  1. abena22 said,

    Inspirational words,I can see we both have something in common,the strong apreciation for literature.William Shakespeare and Wordsworth are both phenominal and they would forever be.Continue posting them.

  2. randallbutisingh said,

    From: Randall Butisingh (randallbutisingh@hotmail.com)
    Sent: Sat 6/21/08 4:31 PM
    To: abeena22

    Thanks abena22 for visiting my blog and for your kind response. Hope tp hear from you again.

    Randall.

  3. Pat, I read your response and truly apppreciate your constancy. I was glad to get in touch with Faneeza’s niece and would also like to get in touch with Faneeza and her husband, Thelma and Naomi. Perhaps later she will locate them for me. I think Atiyya will be glad to hear from. Itis wonderful how cyberspace can bring old friends and acquaintances together again.

  4. abena22 said,

    I can tell that your Indian culture is rich.And you are quite wise for your age.Continue with those great words.I have all the rerspect in the world for Mohandas Ghandhi.I did a project in school about him.I feel so happy when you quote his words.”A man is but the product of his thoughts what he thinks, he becomes.”
    Much respect is given to those great men and those great men who honoured them like you.Abena 19 Grenada


Leave a Reply

