June 18, 2008

BRIDGE OVER TROUBLED WATERS

Posted in Messages, Philosophy, Poetry, Religion tagged , , , , , , , at 12:28 am by randallbutisingh

BRIDGE OVER TROUBLED WATERS

Written By: Simon & Garfunkel (1966) Play video below:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sbFEnoITiWE&feature=related

When you’re weary, feeling small,
When tears are in your eyes, I will dry them all;
I’m on your side. when times get rough
And friends just can’t be found,
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down.
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down.

When you’re down and out,
When you’re on the street,
When evening falls so hard
I will comfort you.
I’ll take your part.
When darkness comes
And pains is all around,
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down.
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down.

Sail on silver girl,
Sail on by.
Your time has come to shine.
All your dreams are on their way.
See how they shine.
If you need a friend
I’m sailing right behind.
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will ease your mind.
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will ease your mind.

By: Simon & Garfunkel – (1966)

Comment:

A truly great “Anthem Song” that has become extremely popular as it also has “hymnal qualities”. It reflects the deep resonance of Simon and Garfunkel’s music that ruled the airwaves in the late 60. 70‘s and even the 80’s, long after they were no longer together. This song gives comfort and support. It has a connection with brotherhood, religion, friendship, and all the positives that a child of God would expect.

It is always uplifting to find musical lyrics that are, like poetry- a reflection of the deepest aspect of man’s awareness of himself and his connection to all Mankind. Many of the artistes of that time reflected that connection. This period was labelled the “Dawning of the Age of Aquarius”. For instance: Do you remember the theme song of the musical “Hair” with lyrics like:-

“ When the moon is in the Seventh House
And Jupiter aligns with Mars
Then peace will guide the planets
And love will steer the stars Harmony and understanding
Sympathy and trust abounding
No more falsehoods or derisions
Golden living dreams of visions
Mystic crystal revelation
And the mind’s true liberation”
Aquarius! Aquarius!

We do hope that one day –soon- that these positive attributes become a reality in this world, where vested interests are struggling to keep the pre-Aquarian competitive, and scarcity based world afloat.

Cyril Bryan – cybryan@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

