March 20, 2008

AWARENESS

Posted in Philosophy, Thoughts tagged , , , , , , , at 6:58 am by randallbutisingh

THOUGHT FOR TODAY:

AWARENESS

Seeing potential in the richness of daily life can only be achieved if we are intently aware and pay attention to details in people, places and things. Looking at things every day like it is the first time reveals facts that may escape you, if like most people you just exist “zombie like” throughout life.

A new point of view can create an innovation from seemingly mundane items. But we are untrained in seeing potential in the items of everyday life… just as we are sometimes blind to the hidden potential in the people around us who we profess to love.

Going back into your past and visiting that old house in the village you grew up in brings you closer to understanding this subject of awareness. Do the houses and rooms not look smaller? Do the streets not look narrower? Is that tall building not looking tall at all? Well the village may not have changed much but you have grown and your perspective has changed.

Remember that the trivial and mundane, properly configured, is what discovery or innovation is made of. Being aware is therefore a prerequisite for developing your creativity and success in life.

Cyril Bryancybryan@gmail.com

4 Comments »

  1. Haider said,

    So true! Keeping posting such insightful thoughts.

    Haider

  2. Thank you Haider for visiting my Blog and perceiving the wisdom in that thought. And thank you Cyril for posting it. I look forward to your sharing with us more of that kind in the days ahead.

  3. Trish said,

    “Going back into your past and visiting that old house in the village you grew up in brings you closer to understanding this subject of awareness. Do the houses and rooms not look smaller? Do the streets not look narrower? ….. Well the village may not have changed much but you have grown and your perspective has changed….”

    Yes, I just went back to my hometown, Vermilion-on-the-Lake up on Lake Erie, USA., last week to visit the little house I grew up in…..wow! I could not get over the tiny house I was looking at. I don’t remember it even being small! The small and simple seemed so insignificant then for realize that we were so proud of our home, the yard we had to play in, the garden that daddy raised every year, the flowers that mom planted. And how I grew up, moved on to my own home, raised my own 4 children in much bigger homes. And even now, how I put so much perspective in the home I now live in, is bigger than all the homes I’ve lived in…..and there’s only two of us…..the children are all grown and gone. Isn’t it all interesting?

  4. A fine comment on ‘AWARENESS’ by Trish. I am happy that she visited our blog. She is an interesting person and I will like to hear from her again. Welcome Trish and my good wishes for your peace and serenity.


Leave a Reply

