February 12, 2008

ABIDE WITH ME

Posted in Religion, Thoughts tagged , , , at 4:38 am by randallbutisingh

ABIDE WITH ME FAST FALLS THE EVENTIDE
Hymn 27 of Hymns Ancient and Modern
for use in the Services of the Church.

“Abide with me” has always been my favourite hymn. Today as I sit in quiet contemplation, my thoughts dwelling on the transitory nature of earthly life and the everlasting realm of the spirit, the last stanza of the hymn comes to my mind:

“Hold Thou Thy cross before my closing eyes,
Shine through the gloom and point me to the skies;
Heaven’s morning breaks and earth’s vain shadows flee,
In life, in death, O Lord, abide with me.”

I was very much moved as I grasped the meaning of this poem as I never did before and the tears welled in my eyes. Apart from the feeling – which is the very essence of the poem – that it evoked in me, the construction of the poem is superb – perfect rhyme and rhythm, beautiful imagery and metaphor – a true work of inspiration. Heaven’s morning breaking like a beautiful, cloudless dawn, when the sun is rising, chasing away the vain shadows of pride, greed, hate and other negative emotions, even as the sun drives away the mists and dispels the darkness of night. Now as I am about to close my eyes in death of this body, I ask that the cross be the beacon of my soul to eternity.

Randall Butisingh

Leave a Reply

