January 18, 2008

FAITH

Posted in Messages, Religion tagged , , , at 7:10 pm by randallbutisingh

FAITH

When a few years ago, I was seriously ill and there was hardly any
hope that I wll ever be able to walk again without support, or be
able to help myself, and was feeling excruciating pain, I never for
one moment complained but was always thankful, for I knew that
there iwas a purpose in my suffering. My friends and family rallied
to my support. I felt their Love and sacrifice. I also found great
comfort in this Hymn by W. Bathurst

O for a Faith that will not shrink,
Though press’d by many a foe
That will not tremble at the brink
Of poverty and woe.

That will not murmur or complain
Beneath the chastening rod;
But in the hour of grief and pain
Can lean upon its God.

A Faith that shines more bright and clear
When tempests rage without;
That when in danger knows no fear,
In darkness feels no doubt.

A Faith that keeps the narrow way
Till life’s last spark is fled;
And with a pure and heavenly ray,
Lights up the dying bed.

Lord, give me such a Faith as this,,
And then whate’er may come,
I taste e’en now the hallowed bliss
Of an eternal home.

It did not matter whether I lived or died. I Knew as Tagore puts
it. “The lamp has gone out because the dawn has arrived.’ However
Providence has spared me for a purpose.

Randall Butisingh

Leave a Reply

