January 5, 2008

THE TRIPLE FILTER

Posted in Philosophy, Thoughts tagged , , , , at 5:13 am by randallbutisingh

THOUGHT FOR TODAY

THE TRIPLE FILTER

In ancient Greece, Socrates was able to hold knowledge in the highest esteem. A friend once said, “Socrates, do you know what I heard about your friend?”
“Socrates replied. “Before telling me anything I’d like you to pass the Triple Filter Test.”

“Before you talk, it might be a good idea to filter what you are going to say. The first filter is TRUTH. Have you made sure that what you are about to tell me is absolutely true?” “No,” the man said, “I actually just heard about it and…”

Socrates said, “Let’s try the second filter, the filter of GOODNESS. Is what you are about to tell me something good?”
“No, on the contrary…”

Socrates continued, “you want to tell me something about him, but you are not certain it’s true. There’s one filter left: the filter of USEFULNESS. Is what you want to tell me about my friend going to be useful to me?”
“No, not really.”

Socrates concluded, “If what you want to tell me is neither TRUE nor GOOD nor even USEFUL, why tell it to me at all?”

1 Comment »

  1. Patanjali Ramlall said,

    Giving large amounts of money to charity and then informing the news media is the purchase of publicity. It also lessens the magnanimity of the act and neutralizes its philantropic origin.

    Displays on TV of certain famous figures holding up African babies are not unusual, while serious persons just give, help, adopt, and choose to remain annonymous.
    Nevertheless, good people, please continue to donate, whether or not, basking in the limelight.

    Be inspired by the last 20th century saint – Mother Theresa.


Leave a Reply

