October 31, 2007

My New Year Message, 2007

Posted in Messages tagged , at 4:54 am by randallbutisingh

This was my New Year’s Message 2007 that has been posted here for your information, as I did not have a Weblog last year.

My New Year Message, 2007

Dear Friends,

Another year is coming to a close. Providence has kept my frail, vulnerable body to begin another year which is the 95th of my earthly existence. I cannot say that I have used all those precious years of my life wisely. My life was one of hills and valleys. I have made many mistakes along the way but without serious consequences. Now, at this time of my life, I thank God for sparing me and to give me the wisdom where I can discriminate, find redemption, and because of my experiences advise on things that really matter for a life of harmony and peace.

I have learnt that every human being is equal in the sight of God, and however recalcitrant, can be redeemed. Also, that every one of us carries that same spark within us from the same Divine flame. That according to John Donne, “No man is an island, entire to itself; everyman is a piece of the continent, a part of the main.” That we are here to serve, and we can gain happiness by making others happy. I have also learnt how to subdue anger, to be impervious to insults, to be non-judgmental and to know that freedom can be gained when others are free.

I have learnt that religion which is exclusive causes conflicts; that humanity is indivisible; that wars serve no human problem; that if we want to live without fear, we must make friends rather than enemies. Abraham Lincoln, a wise American president said; “Do we not destroy our enemies when we make them our friends?” This lesson has not been learnt by our present administration.

We look outside to find God who is nearer to us than our jugular vein. The Kingdom of Heaven is within us. Wherever we are can be Heaven and every stream, a Jordan or a Ganges. And Love is the bark which can take us across the Sea of Existence.

My friends; make no resolutions for the coming year; you may break them and this will diminish you in character, but as Gandhiji puts it: “Live today as if it were your last, and learn as if you will live forever.” And remember: IT IS NEVER TOO LATE TO LEARN.

With Love, Joy, and Peace,

-Randall Butisingh

randallbutisingh@hotmail.com

2 Comments »

  1. randallbutisingh said,

    Comment by Basdeo Toolsie, entered by me.
    A profoundly inspiring message for the New Year. Yes, you are blessed in ways which I am sure you truly appreciate. Your vast experience of life qualifies you to be adequately fitted to guide us all. May you continue to enjoy the many blessings that Providencce has bestowed upon you. Wishing you a peaceful and holy New Year.

    Basdeo.

  2. randallbutisingh said,

    Thank you Basdeo for that comment. Coming from one with your accomplishments, it means a lot to me.


Leave a Reply

